PDA

View Full Version : VA/Seating of male pax nr unaccompanied minors

Peter Agatsiotis
12th August 2012, 08:41 AM
Going through my e-mails and amongst the regular update from Airfleets was an item regarding seating of male passengers next to unaccompanied minors on Virgin Australia.

Not sure if this is a recent decision from VA that male passengers are not to be seated next to unaccompanied minors (assume males travelling on their own) or as a result of an incident.

It appears that some airlines already have this in place as a precaution.

Whatever the reason it does makes sense.

Wayne D
12th August 2012, 11:07 AM
As a former police officer, I can attest to there being female sexual predators. As a male, I find this method of thinking highly offensive.

Rob R
12th August 2012, 11:35 AM
Qantas has a similar policy.

Wayne D
12th August 2012, 12:29 PM
Anyone care to share written confirmation of these policies anonymously?

Radi K
13th August 2012, 07:14 AM
No because that would be a breach of confidentiality between the employee and the airline. I think it's innaporiate even to ask that on a public forum.

Wayne D
13th August 2012, 08:30 PM
It is an offence to discriminate based upon gender, and a further offence if you conceal such offence, so anyone who has this as a directive from their employer and does nothing about it is committing an offence.

Depending upon the circumstances under which said information was provided, it may not breach the company/employee confidentiality guidelines.

Rob R
13th August 2012, 10:01 PM
Looks like Qantas did the same to one of their passengers.

From the Brisbane times

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/travel/travel-incidents/nurse-humiliated-by-qantas-policy-20120813-243t4.html

Adam.S
13th August 2012, 11:46 PM
No because that would be a breach of confidentiality between the employee and the airline.

Please excuse my ignorance here, however I would have thought such policies are made available to the public?