Sydney Airport Message Board

Sydney Airport Message Board (http://www.yssyforum.net/board/index.php)
-   Australia and New Zealand Industry (http://www.yssyforum.net/board/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Sydney Airport closing Runway 07/25 (http://www.yssyforum.net/board/showthread.php?t=12184)

Chris Z 29th April 2020 04:41 PM

Sydney Airport closing Runway 07/25

As an airline pilot, i came across some photos online that they are parking jets on 07/25 and that it’s notamed closed for some time.

So what happens when the winter westerlies hit with 40 kt plus winds?

Can someone explain WHY 16L/34R was not designated the next car park for jets, and associated taxiways, thus giving ATC and pilots 4 credible landing and take off directions instead of just 2 now?!

Todd Hendry 29th April 2020 07:38 PM

Sea spray.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Z (Post 109719)
As an airline pilot, i came across some photos online that they are parking jets on 07/25 and that it’s notamed closed for some time.

Can someone explain WHY 16L/34R was not designated the next car park for jets, and associated taxiways, thus giving ATC and pilots 4 credible landing and take off directions instead of just 2 now?!

My sources say sea spray causing corrosion etc.

Sean L 29th April 2020 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Z (Post 109719)

The 2 other runways are surrounded by water and moisture is the one thing you don't need when storing aircraft long term. There is a reason why most long term aircraft storage facilities are located in the desert. And with the low number of movements, 16L/34R should be able to handle the movements during westerly winds. If the wind is really bad, the aircraft can just be diverted.

Sean L 29th April 2020 09:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sean L (Post 109721)